The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

24 Comments on “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins”

  1. Evan Phail says:

    Hunger Games is my kind of reading. Full of action/adventure and even some sci-fi and fantasy, how could I not like it? Mixed with a strong female protagonist along with a love story (even love triangle), female readers could also have something that may catch their attention.
    The structure of the book was very normal however there were some themes that Suzanne Collins chose specifically to focus on. One of which was the idea of humanity. Peeta’s main concern was that he didn’t want to turn into a ‘monster’ (there that word goes again) because of the games. Another instance was Rue’s funeral. This was a great scene to show that Katniss was also holding on to her humanity. There was also the idea of humanity and its relation to gratitude. District 11 and Thresh both showed their gratitude to Katniss for her care of Rue.
    Even with this idea of humanity, there’s also the ‘Big Brother’ dystopian feel that the Capitol and the Gamemakers always enforce. No matter what happens in the games, there is still the presence and fear that the Capitol is still in control, such as stirring up incidents when the playing field is getting too boring. This goes into my next point that Collins has the political system so interesting and fleshed out. The rituals and rules that are described before, during, and after the games all set the alternate universe to become something real. Also interesting was the sponsorship and the reality show entertainment that is also woven into the storyline.
    Another element to watch is the passage of time. A whole day or even a whole meal might take pages while there are other incidents where a whole day or two may pass by in three sentences. The readers start to lose time and are disoriented throughout many parts of the book. Some parts make it feel like she’s only been in the games for a few days while other parts (especially when the downpour of rain comes) feels like she’s been there for a month.
    Lastly, Michele mentioned the continuous mentions of food. These descriptions made me really hungry first off, but also it reinforces Katniss’ hunger and the desperation when she acquires a new taste for good food. There are countless times when meals are described in the book, each time causing characters to realize their poverty and hunger.

    Altogether this was an amazing adventure novel, mixed with dystopian elements. Almost like Lord of the Flies + American Idol + 1984 = Hunger Games

    I’m really excited for the movie now!

  2. Lindsay Webster says:

    GUUUHHHHHHHHHHH

    Good lord. KJdglkjL

    I JUST HAVE THIS MASSIVE PROBLEM WITH KATNISS. It becomes more and more tangible every time I read the book.

    As with Twilight, naturally there has been a cult-like division between Gale and Peeta. I’m Team Peeta- no shame. But that truly sprouts from this annoying quality I have where I over-romanticize to the point of stripping a relationship of its romantic attributes. I just love Peeta, I love how much he loves her, I love how easy and perfect life would be, just letting him love her.

    my rage with Katniss comes from the simple fact that she is so FRACKING oblivious to the fact that he loves her, that it HURTS MY BRAIN AND MOST APPENDAGES ATTACHED TO MY BODY. Like literally, I feel my hate for her in my elbows.

    I have the words, “I EFFING HATE KATNISS,” “HOW DUMB CAN KATNISS BE??” and “WTF, KATNISS,” littered throughout my book….

    Examples:
    Pg. 217—Speaking of Peeta, she says, “But I am still in the dark on what motivated him to betray the Careers.” –OH REALLY??? I’m still wondering how you remember to BREATHE; YOU’RE DUMB.

    Throughout the entire book, Katniss makes little comments to Peeta about how he couldn’t possibly imagine her struggles, because he’s led such a plush little life. Finalllllyyyy Peeta has some balls and explains that his family couldn’t afford to eat the bread his family’s store produced, so what he ate was stale. On pg. 309, Katniss thinks, “Huh. I always assumed the shopkeepers live a soft life.” —YEAH, YOU’RE NOT REALLY THAT GREAT!! GLAD YOU REALIZE IT.

    I’m sorry, I hate her. Love the book, just not her.

    But honestly, I don’t think that Suzanne Collins helps the situation… I’m not at all saying that she’s not a good writer, I mean, obviously she is—I just hope that she purposefully created this character to be so controversial for people (or um, just me?). Otherwise, I might be daring enough to say that she has a great imagination to build this world, but she can’t write…. NOW STOP. DON’T HATE ME FOR SAYING THAT!!!! I ALREADY WANT TO TAKE IT BACK!!!

    I have examples:
    Pg. 187: Katniss is describing her climb up the tree—“This in itself is dangerous since the branches are becoming precariously thin even for me, but I persevere.” —-OMG. Thank goodness she didn’t die, where would we all beeeeeee without Queen Katniss…….

    But I truly just think this was unfortunate wording on Collins’ part.
    Okay there are other examples but I could go on forever…

    In other news, I DO want to commend Suzanne Collins on her cliffhangers, transitions (she always did it smoothly, mid-chapter, as to not interrupt the cliff hanger) and infusion of Katniss’s memories from the Seam (I still hate her though).

    And the thing is, even though I “strongly dislike” Katniss, she has a distinct character. It’s sort of like, somewhere in the book, when she was thinking about how Cato might be a little crazy, and she compared herself to him, thinking of how she behaved in the private session with the Gamekeepers. She’s a fully rounded character because she has these dynamic sides—she loves her sister more than life, and she has these crazy, indefinable relationships with people like her mom, and Gale, and even the Avox girl. It makes her relatable… her fear of “who she’ll be” if she lives through the games (and won’t need to hunt) is the same fear, I think, that people might feel before going to college, or moving—when the things that have defined us are suddenly gone.

    But while I say that, I see even MORE that the love triangle, my annoyance with her over feeling that love dilemma, is EXACTLY what I hate about TWILIGHTTTTTT!! It’s just so annoying and girly and naïve…. Or something.

    Ok. I’m done.
    I’msorrythisislong and iloveyouokaybye.

  3. Lindsay Webster says:

    hahaha Evan, buddy, I think it’s starkly clear that I wrote my blog at 1am and you wrote yours in the middle of the afternoon…. laughable really. Thank you for comparing it to American Idol, you’re smaahhht.

    couple things- I like that you mentioned food. One of the things I noticed about the writing was that Collins used really unconventional ways of describing it… pg 87, they eat “batter cakes…” Have you ever seen the movie “Hook”? umifyouhaventyoumustbecauseitisawesome. there’s this really colorful food fight scene, and that’s totally what it reminds me of. The food sort of has a life of it’s own.

    Also, you mentioned the idea of humanity- I think the way it was infused into the character’s personalities was flawless. In contrast to the crazy-unfamiliar dystopian world that the book is set in, it allows the readers all the more ability to understand the people. It’s why people get shivers when Katniss volunteers for Prim, and cry for Rue’s death (don’t deny that you did haha)

  4. Caley says:

    Hunger Games completely sucked me in and I couldn’t put it down. It really did an amazing job of transporting myself into the story and made me care about what happens to Katniss. The author managed to obtain this effect by right away though showing Katniss’ hunting and familial responsibilities. She had me right from the beginning when she described the death of her father, creating a classic “underdog” structure and setting Katniss up to the hero. The whole first 3 chapters are meant to provide history to the dystopian society and Katniss’ life. In the first page, it is clear that Katniss would do anything for Prim and that fact of the matter is revisited during the reaping.
    Also I like the juxtaposition between Katniss hunting before and then during the hunger games. I also thought this comparison also applied to the men she was with during both those two times. Katniss really does love Gale and was so much more comfortable with him, in her own forest hunting animals to eat. However it is contrasted with her experiences with Peeta where she has to lead him, hunt people, and all the while is confused about his true/made up feelings.
    I really enjoy how modern this book is, and that it took place in either current day/the future. The inclusion of all the television cameras, big screens, and Olympic-like opening ceremonies gave me a solid comparison. I could imagine how grandiose the games are as well as how regimented and monitored they were. The idea that, it is all about putting on a show, really is applicable to our society and, with the way reality TV is going, it did not seem like much of a stretch that this could be a real event. This book also reminded me of a series called Uglies, Pretties, and Specials, by Scott Westfield, has anyone read them?
    One last thing, Lenny Kravitz as Cinna? I don’t know about that one….

  5. Hannah Sorgi says:

    A few things before we get into the nitty gritty:

    1. Lindsay, very nice blog post, but I would disagree with you. I was never bothered by the love triangle business, and I never got a Twilight feeling out of the novel. Twlight is a very gendered book geared towards girls—and middle aged married women, but Hunger Games is gender neutral in my mind. It is equally part boy and part girl book. There is adventure, excitement, and romance. I didn’t feel like I had to pick a team or anything. I never thought there was a team Gale at all. This could be because I have read the second book so I know what happens next…but who knows.

    2. Evan, I like the equation but mine would look more like:

    Survivor: post-apocalyptic+ Romeo and Juliet+ Gladiator= Hunger Games
    (I’m still working on the equation)

    3. Caley, YES IT IS LIKE THE UGLIES, PRETTIES, AND SPECAILS! I read them years ago but Hunger Games is similar.

    Sooo moving on, I am highly disturbed on why the Hunger Games exist. It is to show people to not rebel. WTF. What if we did this in America? Children die to prove a point. This disturbed me for the beginning of the novel then I was totally ingulfed in the story and totally forgot that the Hunger games were meant to prove a point. Maybe this is because society watches too much reality TV, people are desensitized to violence when they see it through different types of media. It is like seeing wars on the news, eventually is become less of a shock to hear about it or see pictures of it.

    Haymitch is definitely the Archie character in the novel. Although intoxicated all the time his is wise and shares his expirence of being in the games with Peeta and Katniss. I don’t know if I like or dislike Haymitch, he just is what he is.

    The language and discriptions that Collins uses paints perfect pictures in my mind. Even to make is seem like I am watching the hunger games through a TV screen. My favorite, most vivid scenes are the scene when Rue dies and Katniss sings to Rue and places flowers on her. I almost cried. It was so moving and so well described. I almost want to say that Rue was my favorite character. My other favorite scene was the cave when Katniss and Peeta kiss: “You’re not going to die. I forbid it.”(261). SO MUCH TENSION. I loved it. I wanted a super intense romantic scene. There was tension between the audience and the author. Now this is why I am so nervous about the movie. I have what everything should look like in the book…I don’t want the film to portray it another way! Lenny Kravitz…not going to be a Cinna in my mind. I picture Cinna more like Tom Gunn or someone else who probably would be featured on Bravo.

    I LOVED THE HUNGER GAMES! I think that reason why it was so well received by the public is that it is less about teen angst, and more about adventure and conflict. Yes, one could relate certain ideas to different teen angsty things but overall the plot in the novel is all too far in the future to relate to. I see where the basis of the plot comes from, but I don’t relate to the novel, or connect…if anything I connect to the thrill. Collins made this novel the perfect page turner.

    Check out http://www.thehungergames.co.uk/

  6. Luke Lyons says:

    This is going to sound weird but bear with me: I enjoyed the action of reading Hunger Games more than the actual story. The plot was good and I can see why Hunger Games is getting a lot of attention. Katniss serves as an awesome female heroine. The “big brother” theme combined with mushy teenage love drama makes for a fantastic young adolescent book. But what I loved most about Hunger Games was just having it in my possession. Whenever I would have it out around some of my peers, I would always be asked about it. My peers that did read the book gave me kudos for reading it. Simply, the sleek look of the book made me feel and look like a hip.

    It appears that reading Hunger Games is the cool thing to do now. And even though I didn’t connect with Katniss, that does not stop me from having the cool factor. There is something aesthetically pleasing about Hunger Games. I’m not sure if it’s because of how popular it became since it’s release, but this is all I could think about while reading this book. The minimalist artwork for this book’s cover is phenomenal. This is something authors must be more conscious of. When dealing with young adults (especially today) it’s a challenge to grasp their attention and hold it for long periods of time. The aesthetic appeal Collins has created with Hunger Games does just that. Once you get into Hunger Games, the chapters move so fast that you can just truck through the story. It doesn’t feel like you’re just passing time by reading a book, it feels like you need to know if Katniss and Peeta will ever work out and how many more tributes will die. Maybe I’ll be able to explain this better in class but Hunger Games is just awesome.

  7. Eliss Manon says:

    Eliss Mañon
    Adolescent Literature
    Michele Polak
    October, 30th 2011
    LMAO….Okay so after reading Lindsay blog I can definitely see what it is about the book that she hates, she said it all! But overall it was a good book and kept me wanting to keep reading which of course is ALWAYS good. For some reason reading this book reminded me of the short story The Lottery (I forget who the author is, has anyone read it?), basically everyone form the town is out into the lottery as a family than they choose someone who HAS to, whether they like it or not, sacrifices their life. I know the ideas are different but the whole idea of doing something you don’t want to do but have to because the tradition in your town I has to live on. That really sucks and I’m grateful that our society does not have to go thorough anything like that.
    I felt that Katniss was a really strong character, maybe annoying at times, but a very important person in her family lives. She also has to fight in order to live and has two guys in her life. I can totally see the connection with Twilight here! LOL!!!
    I also like how before all the action happened in the book we were able to get to know Katniss as a person and her history. I also thought that it was why I would get worried when I thought she would get hurt, leaving me in suspense. Getting to know her made me care for her and yes, sometimes want to slap her across the head but thats what friends are there for right lol. And I guess that this was the same reason why I liked Twilight so much because I got to know Bella and wished I could tell her off. Sounds kinda weird I know but its true lol.
    Hunger Games was really good because it touched many topics such as the Government control, poverty, love, control, and many more which are the reasons that drew me in for sure. I cant wait till the movie comes out, and see how it is portrayed.

  8. balor321 says:

    Hunger games is one of those fantasy books that transcends the pitfalls of much of its competition. Dystopia is a juggling act- the risk of overdramatisation is ever-present and the need to move the plot forward is often hampered by basic questions of access to transportation and supplies. When it’s done right though it’s a subgenre very much unlike anything else. Hunger games keeps the focus tight in on its characters allowing the socio political climate of the story to unfold through their eyes. The end result is a book which does more than just lecture to the reader it lets the reader explore the challenges and travails of the frame naturally.

    I wasn’t invested in these characters the first time and I’m not now. I think it’s because in such societal collapse for clear cut hetero normative relations to still be the standard I would expect more time- or any time dedicated to explaining the circumstances surrounding that consistency. I can’t get invested in these love triangles where the sole goal is drama- if you actually legitimately cared equally for both people and it was believable then that’s one thing- go watch Vampire Diaries for a show that does that right. Here Katniss comes off in those moments as on an ego trip more than anything else- which is weirdly inconsistent with her status as a folk hero and all around good person. I really wish we were treated to more of an explanation as to what the total circumstances surrounding the societal collapse were. I’m an entropy nerd and the glossing over of the circumstances that led to global super conflict makes me sad.

    What this book does right is to limit the scope of the trials of its lead to one we can grasp. Instead of following a hero who faces no challenges we follow one for whom survival is far from a given- and paradoxically were left cheering that much more loudly for her survival. It’s a shame that this book had sequels because it seems it would have been that much better if it were left in the ambiguity of unfulfilled machinations. As it is Hunger Games stands as a testament that world building isin’t limited to “high” fantasy or “grand” scifi- instead its achievable in a story about people. Hunger Games is the kind of book that makes you think the people who dismiss YA fiction do so out of an envy they can’t do as well with as little.

  9. kbronner says:

    I’ve read the Lottery!

  10. kbronner says:

    I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t enjoy reading this book. The first time I read it was over the summer, and I hid away reading it on my breaks from work. The book sucked me in so much that I wanted to stay home just to read it. Though, I do have to say that borrowing books two and three from Lindsay over fall break made me not like the series as much as I thought that I would–but I’ll let those of you who want to read the other ones make the decisions on that.

    I think that Hunger Games is a prime example of a YA book that is read by people other than YA readers. I definitely enjoyed the plot of this book more than the other books, and some people older than myself have read the book and enjoyed it or asked me about it. I agree with what Luke said about just having the book with me. Looking at the cover, no one thinks that the book is written for a YA audience. The black and gray colors and the eye-catching image of the mockingjay make the book seem like something that any adult could pick up. The title, without reading the back of the book, is so ambiguous that it is question-worthy for those who haven’t heard of the series.

    The first line of the summary, “In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capital surrounded by twelve outlying districts,” made me imagine that the world as we know it today could collapse and be replaced by this horrible “Panem” who forces children to murder each other for entertainment. I think that’s what made the book so enthralling for me. We never get an actual date in time as a reader. To imagine that Panem could actually exist, would mean that the North America as I know it would not exist! The world created by Collins differs so much from my world that reading The Hunger Games felt like seeing into another culture. I recognized some of myself in it, but also felt that I could compare the Hunger Games to a barbaric ritual of some far away tribe that I know nothing about.

  11. Lindsay Webster says:

    H. Sorgi- I don’t think that HG is relatable to Twilight in it’s leanings towards a particular gender– in fact I agree with you! I think that Katniss is likable to boys/girls, I think that the dystopian world and dealings with the Capitol make it enjoyable to every age group. My comparison to Twilights stems just from the fact that there is a love triangle at all… and I think that the fact that Katniss has weird mixed up feelings for both Gale AND Peeta (just like stupid Bella and her two men) automatically creates a team Gale/Peeta. also, I think that the fact that you read the second book should prove even more that people are picking sides… maybe you need to read the third one too, to get the full picture? At the bookstore I worked in, I organized the midnight release party for the third book. Not only were there kids of both genders, but there were people of all ages, and they came ROARING to tell me who’s team they were on. From an audience perspective….

    and to both Evan and Hannah, my concoction is: Survivor + Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery,” + Lord of the Flies = Hunger Games ❤

  12. Lindsay Webster says:

    hahaha ELISS!!! I totally thought of “The Lottery” too!! It’s by Shirley Jackson- and it has this whole creepy something to do with fertility… like the sacrifices and the crops…. it’s spooky. President Snow gets weirder and weirder as the HG books continue, but he’s totally reminds me of “The Lottery”

    GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE, GIRL!!!

  13. lmaalexander says:

    This is the first time I’ve read Hunger Games. We’ve been talking about it so much in class and I’ve heard so many amazing reviews of it, that honestly I was looking forward to reading this book more than any others on our lists. That being said, it really did only take me a few hours to read the book, and I really enjoyed it. I thought it was extremely captivating and just an all around exciting book to read. However, what I want to focus on for my journal is the cover of the book.

    When I first saw The Hunger Games, I immediately thought: Boy book. It has a solid black cover, the title is silver and red and the only image is a golden bird. These colors are all strong and masculine and as soon as I saw them, I conjured up images of a strong, powerful male protagonist. Of course as we all know, Catniss is not a male. However, the rhetorical choice of making the cover so masculine is interesting to me. I would think boys would be much more likely to pick this book up because of its cover, but, the lead character is a female. When I began thinking of this, I connected it to Crank. Similarly to Hunger Games, Crank has a very masculine cover to it, yet the main character is a a female. These two books made me wonder do authors want more young male readers for their books? Are they trying to diversify the audience that reads their work? Most teen girls read more than most teenage boys, so are these authors attempting to broaden the reading material that teen boys read? But, I feel that if this were truly the case, then they would have picked strong, male characters as their protagonists. But neither Collins or Hopkins did this. They chose to write about flawed, tough, determined young women instead. By adding the masculine cover work to the fact that they are writing about girls though, I think it really does make their female characters seem stronger and fiercer. Just by looking at the books, not even reading them, we are already thinking about dark, intense subject matter. So even though the characters’ genders that we are reading about might not match up to this, we automatically associate them with toughness and strength just because of the cover art and typography that was used on the outside of the books.

  14. Evan Phail says:

    Have I seen Hook, yes.
    Did I cry at Rue’s death…….very possible

    In regards to your post below:
    I love Katniss as a character. Especially because she’s not falling into a romance like every other book that’s supposed to catch the teenage audience. Although I do agree that she seems a little oblivious to Peeta but it could be because she has such a warrior/fighter mentatlity and her chief concern is survival…

    And in fact I didn’t really care for Peeta. Yes, he was madly/desperately in love with Katniss but I guess that this was almost foolish. It could have cost him his life in a real ‘hunger game’. i saw him more as a clumsy/bumbling hero.

  15. Evan Phail says:

    Now that we’re comparing casting choices, although this guy is not an actor, I totally pictured Cinna as Jay Manuel from America’s Next Top Model… (Only reason I know this is because of my younger sister).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jay_Manuel

  16. Katie McLean says:

    I feel a little guilty! I wasn’t into Hunger Games. But I knew this would happen because of my dislike for fantasy. I never pick them up or even consider them when perusing for a new book. Hated Twilight (the movie) and would never even dare open it to read. And I’m not saying I only enjoy girly books about relationships and conventional things that happen in life. I love reading Scandinavian thrillers, which are sometimes unbelievable and the events seem impossible, but they are written in a way that makes you believe it could happen to one single person in the world. But fantasy books, they just don’t work for me.

    Hunger Games, I think, was well-written. Which is actually somewhat hard for me to even declare.. Because I don’t enjoy the genre. Since so many people like it though, I am going to blame my dislike on my hate for fantasy. And no, this book wasn’t too far fetched. Just for example, the names– I think I literally don’t have an imagination, because when I read the names I can’t picture any image of what they look like. I can’t create an association, and a visual is important for me to want to be involved in the book.

    There is something about Collin’s writing that I struggled with too. I read the first page twice until it registered. Ugh, I just feel like I’m so disappointed with myself! I feel bored with the plot. But I just googled this reaction, and found out I’m normal (hahah), and many people had to read it again to really get into it. But if that’s true, then I don’t think the books worth it for me.

    I’m also thinking I might like this book if I read it without a stress in the world. The writing makes me work for it, which I can’t do in these stressful days when I have a to do list that is pages loooong! And when I say “work for it”, I mean I have to think hard about what it looks like, the descriptions not working for me.

    So that’s that. Secrets out, I’m not into it, but I can’t decide if it’s Collins fault. I’m conflicted. And I pledge to give it another go.

  17. Anonymous says:

    Shanita Mcleod

    I liked Hunger Games. I also love how everyone is making a love equation. I think that this book makes a good adolescent book because it explores similar themes of the books we have read; however it focuses more on teenage love affair theme. Like to Luke, many of my peers have not read the book, but were all thrilled that I was reading it so that I could cue them in on what it was about. I love how Collins show Katniss’s progress and how she has to fight to survive. Like Sorgi, the cave kiss was so romantic and intense; it almost made you wish you were her. Collins does a great job of drawing in her reader. This book in my opinion should not just be a YA book; it should be a novel for everyone to read.
    On another note to me the book is very angsty, it speaks about competition. Survival of the fittest, kids pitted against each other to fight to the death. In this book, I feel like the parent take the role of the children and vice versa. The book discusses poverty and hunger and the lengths people have to go to survive.
    Collins also gives us a great balance with a boy and girl protagonist. This gives a view of both genders, how they may change, how there similar, etc.
    Overall, I like more of the structure and how the book will affect those who read it , rather than the book itself.

  18. Meghan Warager says:

    The Hunger Games have left me completely speechless. What an incredible book. First of all I can understand the connection people would make with relating it to the Twilight Series, but I can also understand why most readers would rate this book 100 times better. Despite both books being love stories in fantasy like settings, the characters in The Hunger Games are so much more developed and so much more relatable and fun to read about. Just comparing the two main characters Bella and Katniss, Katniss was such a stronger character in her priorities (love and devotion for her family, her alliances with Rue and Peeta) whereas Bella claimed to love her family but mostly whined or put herself in positions to her the feelings of her family and Jake/Edward.
    The actual concept of “Hunger Games” brings such a strong emotion of fear and disgust to the reader, but I feel that despite the horrid idea of such a “game” Collins does an excellent job of still showing humanity in the characters and uses the games as ways to develop characters (such as describing their strengths, using the games to create a love story) that you can still see real teenage problems that everyone can relate to despite the fact these teenagers were in such drastic unrealistic circumstances.
    Personally I just love the fact that despite the cover of the book, and the topic (fantasy, action) Collins creates SUCH a strong female character. From looking at the book or hearing the description you would not have suspected. It almost is unsettling how strong of a character Katniss is compared to Peeta, so as a reader you can see why she may not trust him at first and feel like his feelings for her are not real. I am curious to read the next two books to see what will happen with the love story, I predict that Gale is going to play a bigger role in the next books, maybe even be entered into the Hunger Games and Peeta has to coach? Or something along those lines.

  19. sbuckleit says:

    I’ve read the Hunger Games multiple times and it never fails to grip me. There’s something about the race to the death, love triangle, wilderness survival and glitzy gameshow that draws readers in and doesn’t let them go until the very end.

    One thing I’m struggling with is fitting this book in with the other novels that we read in this course. I think it’s the dystopian element; the themes that we saw in the other books (other than teen angst) didn’t really apply. Katniss’ struggle is on a whole different level than any of the other characters that we’ve read about. She’s fighting off other children and creepy wolves, while Stargirl is facing animosity from her peers–they’re kind of in different ball parks.

    So Hunger Games is really great at drawing the reader in; but what is Collins doing with her audience once she’s got them? I suppose the novel does send the message that women can be strong and independent and even violent when needed, which breaks down traditional stereotypes surrounding female characters, but I’m not sure what else the material has to give. (I’m very scared typing this because I know I’m going to get cut down in class… I love the book, guys, really).

    In terms of some solid rhetorical analysis: the cover of the novel is geared toward boys, with the white print on a solid black background, all caps, and simplistic logo. Even the structure of the novel is geared toward an audience who appreciates a fast pace and solid clinchers at the end of every chapter (and let’s face it, those last sentences are simply tantalizing). Not to mention the content: a violent game show that requires brutal strength and cunning. And yet the main character is a female. This is something that I particularly appreciated because it’ll get boys used to reading about female protagonists, and open them up to whole other worlds of literature.

    Now who has any ideas about the Archie character? I know Michelle mentioned Haymitch, but I just don’t know if I can see it.

    Sarah B

  20. Yuliana Baez says:

    So I guess I have to be the designated one. I really was not a big fan of this book. I don’t know. Maybe it is because I read through my IPod touch but I did not really get into it. I can understand why people did enjoy this book though. This book has blown up so big and I never understood why, it is just like Twlight. I do think I will enjoy the movies but I really just hate reading books like this.

    Rhetorically speaking this book was a well written book by far better than Twlight which I did not enjoy reading it much. Even if this book wasn’t as big as it was now I think if I were to see it at a book store I would have picked it up by the cover and the name of the book itself. There is something about it that draws my attention. When I think of The Hunger games I see action, drama, and love which is all things I look for in a book.

    For the first 100 or so pages I was bored to death, partly because I also read it with a negative attitude from the beginning but it slowly picked up as we got deeper in it. I think believe Collins did this purposely as it matches perfectly with the momentum of the book.

    I was dying when reading Lindsay’s blog post because I can imagine her actually saying this. I completely agree with her but again it something that Collins did on purpose. I was really annoyed by the love triangle. I really just wanted to jump into the book and tell Katniss like “WTF”.

    I obviously don’t have much to say about this book because I truly did not get into it. I do believe this is a perfect Young Adult novel.

  21. Shane Samuel says:

    So, I just finished reading the Hunger Games and to be honest I went in with the mentality of hating it just because I knew everyone would love it. In short, I found myself having a love hate relationship with this novel. I will speak about the love first.

    Although, Collins presented ideas/ a plot that we see in almost every adventure/thriller/suspense novel, the way that she wrote it made it seem different—addictive in a sense. The way she constructs that last sentence that makes you want to keep reading is amazing, a very powerful and useful rhetorical tool.

    I loved that Collins did not make Katniss so stereotypical (the love struck emotional train-wreck girl), instead she gave her the stereotypical boy traits (emotionally disabled), this made me like her more to be honest. The way that Collins wrote this book makes it genderless, in other words both girls and boys can like this novel.

    What I did not like about his novel was the fact that Katniss narrated the whole thing, for me it made character development difficult. For example, I really liked Peeta, but the first person narration of Katniss limited Collin’s ability to really explore his character. Also, the first person narration made the ending predictable because the protagonist cannot die, which kind of killed the suspense -_-.

  22. Daphney
    I really like The Hunger Games. I have to admit, I always judge a book by it’s cover and would have never picked it on my own, but it was good reading.
    Before this class, the title confused me, and the fact that it is adol lit confused me even more because I kept thinking it was about girls competing to see who can be the skinniest (I know, I think too much).
    It’s refreshing to read about an alternate universe especially since our past 3 readings have been realistic fiction.
    One thing I don’t like about the book is the fact is the hunger games itself, I just don’t get how it’s acceptable, but then again it’s an alternate universe.
    I have never read a book that could attract both girls and guys, this one did it perfectly because of such a good balance of focus on the love and action stories.

    (Did the dramatic love story remind anyone of a Shakespearean tragedy? If we can’t be together, let’s poison ourselves…)

    YES it was good a good read, but I really did not enjoy it as much as I expected because it did not live up to the hype. Lindsay is not a fan of the characters, but I’m not a fan on Collins. I feel like an adventure book should be so good that you can’t put it down. For this one, the pace of the story was good, but the writing was not what I expected.
    I was rushing through it, but I do plan on reading it again this week to see if my opinion changes, because I really want to like this novel, especially since it’s going to be a movie.
    (I really think the movie will be better than the novel)

  23. carlagaynor2 says:

    While this book did draw me in, I can’t begin to fathom how this book is considered okay. I don’t mean that I disprove of the book in general, I’m just a little surprised that it was able to pass as an adolescent book, with no warning on it. After all of the lawsuits over Grant Theft Auto, for too much violence, I’m surprised this was not viewed the same way. I mean, here we are reading about 24 teens murdering each other for the sake of peoples’ entertainment.

    I’m also surprised that I was drawn into this book eventually, though it wasn’t until the start of the games. I couldn’t put the book down after the games started, as every chapter left me with so much suspense I couldn’t stop reading. Before the beginning of part two however, I had trouble finishing the chapters. I’m not one for dystopian novels.

    I think what makes the content okay is that it does take place in a separate world. Grand Theft Auto (Rock Star Games was being sued in 7 different countries at one point last summer) is based in America, so the violence is more realistic. Here the games are not only separate from society, but also completely separate from the society in which we know.

    I loved the character of Haymitch. I think he was my favorite. Even though he was drunk the entire time, I saw him as the Archie. Possibly Cinna as well. I felt that Haymitch added some comic relief to the suspense of the book and definitely felt the story needed a character like him.

    Lastly, I hated that the book was in the first person. Usually I like when adolescent lit books are in the first person, but this one bothered me because you know Katniss will live in the end. After all, they can’t kill off the narrator.

  24. Shane Samuel says:

    The Cast of Hunger Games (Pics)